Publishing strategy

This publishing strategy is working and an academic journal has accepted my paper for publication!  Wey-hey!  Am I pleased!  It is less than a year since I finished my PhD and someone wants to publish my work.

A few months ago, here, I mused on whether I should publish in journals or whether a conference was a publication.  My strategy was to present at conferences, get feedback and edit my writing in order to get an acceptable paper to publish.  Last year I presented at the Academy of Management biennial conference of the Management Consulting Division.  Earlier this year, I presented at the UKAIS conference.  My examiner was in the audience.

A couple of weeks later, said examiner emailed me to ask if, given review feedback I could revise the paper by 1st May for the possibility of its being accepted for a special issue of the relevant journal in August.   Ex-supervisors and I have been working on a paper for a different journal at the same time as I was preparing the conference paper, but you can’t publish similar papers because that’s self-plagiarism.  So we worked the two papers together, addressing the review feedback – thank you to the reviewers – and put it together in time.  It was accepted.

Not only that, but as a consequence of preparing for that research interview a few weeks ago a colleague told me of a strategy-as-practice workshop that was looking for papers and realised that my research had aspects that might be relevant.  I proposed a paper and proposal was accepted.  The full paper is now written and uploaded.  With feedback from the workshop in June maybe we (supervisors & I) can write another paper this year.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About PosPosDoc

Researching police learning. Researched reflective performance and its use in videos for learning STEM subjects. Researched older people online Researched engaged relationships between public sector clients and consultants on IT projects Know about public sector, project management, consultants, IT, and use of social media

One response to “Publishing strategy”

  1. mqtran says :

    great news Liz! very happy for you!

Leave a Reply

